Exiles Forum

Lisburn, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland



Mr Leslie Patterson is the new minister at Loughaghery and Cargycreevy

Cargycreevy  Presbyterian Church

Cargycreevy Presbyterian Church

Loughaghery Presbyterian Church

Mr. Leslie PattersonAt a meeting in Loughaghery Presbyterian Church on Monday 25th June, it was agreed that a call should be made out to the Mr. Leslie Patterson to become the minister of the united charge of Loughaghery and Cargycreevy congregations. Mr Patterson, currently assistant minister of McQuiston Memorial Presbyterian Church in the Presbytery of East Belfast, will be ordained and installed at a Service of Installation in early October.

Son of Mrs Loreen Patterson and the late Mr Robert Patterson, Leslie was brought up on the Magherahamlet Road (approx 4 miles outside Ballynahinch). After attending the University of Ulster at Jordanstown (1999-2002) where he obtained a BSc (Hons) in Youth and community Work, he attended (and lived at) Union Theological College Belfast (2002-2005) where he obtained a Dip. Min (Diploma in Ministry) and M. Div (Master of Divinity). He was licensed on 25th June 2005 at Edengrove Presbyterian Church in Ballynahinch, his home congregation and started his full time assistantship at McQuiston Memorial Presbyterian Church on 13th June 2005. Currently living in Ballygowan, Leslie will marry Miss Laura Graham on Wednesday 2nd January 2008 in McQuiston Memorial Presbyterian Church.

Loughaghery and Cargycreevy congregations were united in 1971, and the Rev David McConaghy was installed as the first minister of the united charge on 23rd February 1972. Mr McConaghy retired on 30th April 2002 and is now the Minister Emeritus of Loughaghery and Cargycreevy. The Convenor of the vacancy from May 2002 - May 2003 was the Rev David Porter, minister of Second Dromara and from June 2003 to January 2005 the Rev Gary Glasgow, Minister of Anahilt and Drumlough was appointed Convenor. The present Convenor of the vacancy, Dr Bert Tosh - Senior Producer, BBC Religious Programmes, was appointed in February 2005.