Big thank you from

Magnificent six solo titles for Willie 

Pipe Bands by Mervyn McConnell

THE Glenfiddich Piping Solo Championship, which took place recently, was won for the sixth time by Willie McCallum from Scotland in both the Piobaireachd and MSR.

Runner up in the Piobaireachd was Angus MacColl, 3rd Roddy MacLeod, 4th Alasdair Gillies and 5th Jack Lee from Canada.

Runner up in the MSR was Angus MacColl, 3rd Gordon Walker, 4th Roddv MacLeod and 5th Stuart Liddell.

This competition is considered the ultimate contest for solo pipers worldwide and with this sixth victory Willie McCallum has set a record that will be difficult to surpass.

Keith Dawes is the new Pipe Major of the Lothian & Borders Police Pipe Band. He replaces Colin McLellan who has been in charge of the band for five years

Before Colin the band had a series of pipe majors including George Lumsden, Duncan Smith and Kenny McBride. Originally from Ayrshire, Keith has played with the band from 1996. He previously played in the Ayr Society Pipe band under David Clark and his piping teachers included Ronald Morrison and Angus J. McLellan.

He served with the 2nd Battalion Scots Guar& under Pipe Major Dixie Ingram and was an assistant instructor in the Guards Depot Piping School, completing his Pipe Majors' course in 1989.

A Co. Antrim Grade 3B pipe band is looking for a Leading Drummer for the 2005 season. Any experienced pipers would also be made very welcome. For further information. please contact Patricia on 07712 19498

The South Belfast Highland Dance workshops will take place on the 20th and 27th November and the 4th and 11th December.

Tutor will be Shelley Chalmers from Scotland.

The workshops are from 9.30am to 6 pm and further details can be obtained from John, Julie or Debi at 90321766.

The last of the 2004 meetings of the Northern Ireland Branch of the RSPBA will take place on Saturday 27th November in the Bridge Community Centre, Lisburn commencing at 2pm. There will be full reports form National Council members and music board representatives.

The South Belfast Cultural Society will again be presenting their Burns Night Supper in the Europa Hotel on Friday 28th January 2005 from 8pm to lam. This is always a good evening and the entertainment will be provided by the reigning world champions the Field Marshal Montgomery Pipe Band and the South City Highland Dancers along with a side drum display team. Other music will be by the club Band Fusion band.

Tickets, which include the meal, are £20 and are available from John Dean on 90 321766

The Adjudicators' Panel of the RSPBA is an integral part of the structure of the Association. It is overseen by a Management Board. The Adjudicators' Training Group is a subcommittee of the Management Board. The membership of the Management Board comprises a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Minute Secretary, two members of the RSPBA National Council and two members of the Adjudicators' Training Group.

Current members are: Trevor Dear, Chairman; Jim Hutton, Vice Chairman; Joe Noble, Minute Secretary; George Purves, RSPBA Vice Chairman; Florence Allan, National Councillor; Bob Shepherd, Adjudicators' Training Group; Alistair Aitken, Adjudicators' Training Group.

There are four categories of RSPBA Adjudicator: Piping, Drumming, Ensemble and Drum Major.

The Adjudicators' Panel Management Board is committed to ensuring that RSPBA Adjudicators are competent, credible and professional. New

processes have been introduced for Adjudicator mentoring, performance management and continuing professional development.

New criteria have also been introduced for entry to the Adjudicators' Panel.

Full details of the application process can be obtained from RSPBA Headquarters.

Ulster Star