Big thank you from

Barry takes the honours in world drumming championships

THE world solo drumming championships took place last Saturday in the Glasgow Caledonia University, Scotland.

Around 150 drummers from Scotland, England, Ireland, Spain, Australia, USA, Canada and New Zealand competed to win the most coveted prize in drumming.

Competing against a field of 12 world class drummers Barry Wilson - who drums with Scottish Power Pipe Band - took the top honours in the senior section. He was placed first in both the MSR and the Hornpipe and Jig to win the championships in supreme fashion.

Stephen McWhirter, who was defending his title, was placed third with Gordon Brown taking second, Eric Ward fourth, J. Reid Maxwell fifth and Gordon Lee sixth.

The three juvenile sections were won by Grant Cassidy (North Lanarkshire Schools Pipe Band), Craig Brown (Boghall & Bathgate) and William Quinn (Clan Gregor Society).

Drummers from Northern Ireland had some success as well with Dean Smyth (Cullybackey) taking runner up place in juvenile section one and Blake McVeigh (Gransha) fourth.

In the Juvenile section two final Stephen Paynter came fourth with Gareth McLees and Jonathon Hoy fifth and sixth respectively in juvenile section three.

The meeting of the Northern Ireland branch of the RSPBA was held last Saturday with a good attendance. National Council secretary Mervyn Herron was pleased to confirm the BBC will be televising the world championships for the next two years with the possibility of recording other major events in Ireland.

Mervyn also is working on finalizing the printing of the 2008 calendars and orders can be taken now. Contact him on 40624849 or 07702 681189.

The grading of bands for the 2008 season was also officially announced at the branch meeting, and all bands should have already received notification of their upgrading or downgrading.

The Piping and Drumming Qualifications Board will soon have its own website. Pipers and drummers will be able to find out how to become a registered examiner and study for all other information relevant to the international piping and drumming examination qualifications.

The Board will meet soon to finalise the structure of the new Pipe Band

Studies examinations open to pipers and drummers who hold the Level 4 qualifications.

The new secretary is Ian Embelton, Chief Executive of the RSPBA, and the Chairman is Alistair Aitken of the RSPBA's adjudicators' panel.

Bands wishing to put their pipers and drummers forward for exams should contact Headquarters.

If anyone is dedicated to his hobby it has to be Matty Bayne from Co. Wexford.

Matty travels every week from his home to the Belvoir Drum Majors' classes every Saturday. He catches the 7am bus and doesn't get home until around 10pm on a Saturday night.

He receives teaching from class instructor Kathryn Smyth who has been leading the class for the last three years. If dedication gets rewards then Matty is sure to be a prizewinner.

The Ulster Youth Ensemble will be performing in the Market Place Theatre at 7.30pm on Thursday 15th November as part of this year's 14th Wm. Kennedy Festival programme.

Also on the same bill will be Iain and Allan MacDonald, Hamish Moore and Mike Katz. Tickets cost £8 and are available direct from the Market Place

Theatre Box Office at 3752 1821 or online a t

There is also a major piping conference, which will include lectures on different aspects of highland piping from Hugh Cheape, Joshua Dickson Allan MacDonald and Hamish Moore. Details of the full programme of events is available on

Results of World Drumming Championships

Juvenile section One. 1st. Grant Cassidy. 2nd.Dean Smyth. 3rd.Christopher Trew. 4th.Blake McVeigh. 5th. Gavin Orr. 6th.Rob Hunter.

Juvenile section Two. 1st. Craig Brown. 2nd. Cameron Ward. 3rd.Billy Archibald. 4th.Stephen Paynter. 5th. Graeme McMillan. 6th.Jack McClamrock.

Juvenile section Three. 1st. William Quinn. 2nd.Michael McKenna. 3rd.Craig Lawrie. 4th. Chris Taylor. 5th.Gareth McLees. 6th.Jonathon Hoy Senior. 1st. Barry Wilson. 2nd.Gordon Brown. 3rd.Stephen McWhirter. 4th.Eric Ward. 5th.J.Reid Maxwell. 6th.Gordon Lee

Ulster Star