Big thank you from

New venue a winner for Fermanagh championship  

THE new venue of Broadmeadow in the centre of Enniskillen has proved a winner for the Co. Fermanagh annual pipe band championships, last Saturday.

Supporters and bands people from all over Ireland crowded the park on a bright sunny day to enjoy the competition.

The two brothers Glenn and Robert Cupples (Ballycoan and Cullybackey) were once again going head to head in Grade 1 with Ballycoan taking the top title by winning best pipes, best drums, best bass, marching and deportment and the overall first place. Cullybackey were runners up and Killeen, playing up a grade the final third placing.

Pipe Major Philip Boyce and his Killeen Pipe Band continued their success when they took the top prize in Grade 2 and also won the trophy for best pipes. Ravara were second and winners of the best drums best bass any marching and deportment.

Killen from Co. Tyrone with Pipe Major R Burke, took the title in Grade 3A with Aughintober winning best pipes, Howard Memorial best drum corps and best bass section.

Co. Down band Raffrey under Pipe Major Francis Strain clinched the Grade 3B title with Augharonan winning runner up place and best drum corps and best bass section.

Two southern bands won the 4A and 41 grades. St.Laurence Howth won first in 4A as well as best drums and Thiepval Memorial the 4B title.

Successful drum majors were - Kathy Megar Calvin (senior); Samantha Gordon (Juvenile) Lauren Hanna (Junior); and Lauren Abrahan (Novice).

The Larne Pipe Band championships will be held on Saturday June 7 at Sandybay Playing Fields with 46 bands competing for the prizes On the evening before the pipe band competition, Grade 1 Lothian & Borders Police Pipe band will be appearing in concert under their new Pipe Major Davy Barnes. Tickets on sale from Lorraine McVeigh telephone 07871 389874 or 0289146 6028

The Mid-Ulster Section of the Northern Ireland branch of the RSPBA will host their 54th Annual Pipe Band and Drum Majors championships on Saturday June 14 in Cookstown High School Sports Arena commencing at 12 Noon for the Bands and 11.30am for Drum Majors Dress.

There are 49 Bands and 49 Drum Major entered for this event. The competition will start with Grades 4B and 4A, followed b Grade 3B and 3A and Grade 2. The Grade bands will start at 3.30pm with the Scottish Champions St Laurence O'Toole (Dublin playing into the arena first. There will be the usual support of side attractions with Stall and Archery taking place.

The adjudicators for the day will be Arena 1: Piping: Ian McLellan and Tony Sloane Drumming: Billy Dunlop, Ensemble: Jo Noble and M&D: Walter Lambe and Arena 2: Piping: Ian Wood and Harry Stevenson Drumming: William Goodall, Ensemble Denver Cardwell and M&D: David Monan The Drum Major adjudicators will be D/M Alastair Patterson and D/M Alan McBride.

The Chieftain of the Day is a local Cookstown man - Mr Norman Bell with his wife Meta presenting the prizes. Norman has been a supporter of Pipe Bands since the 1960's and is one of the Mid-Ulster Sections Vice President.


Grade 1 - 1st. Ballycoan (also best pipes, best drums, best bass and M&D) 2nd. Cullybackey. 3rd.Killeen.

Grade 2 - 1st. Killeen (also best pipes). 2nd.Ravara(also best drums, best bass and M&D

Grade 3A - 1st. Killen. 2nd.Aughintober (also best pipes) 3rd.Cottown. 4th.Drumlough.Best drums and best bass woe, by Howard Memorial.

Grade 3B - 1st. Raffrey. 2nd.Augharonan. (also best drum( and best bass) 3rd.Cullenfad. 4th.McNeillstown.

Grade 4A - 1st. St.Laurence Howth (also best drums) 2nd.Derryclavim. 3rd.Moneygore. 4th.Quinn Memorial. Bes bass won by Bready Ulster Scots.

Grade 4B - 1st. Thiepval Memorial. 2nd.Bellaghy(also best drums). 3rd.Clontibret. 4th.lrvine Memorial. Best bass won by Cleland Memorial.

Drum Majors:

Senior - 1st.Kathy Megarry Calvin. 2nd.Paula Braiden 3rd.Ryan Ferry. 4th.Brian Wilson. 5th.David Brownlee.

Juvenile - 1st. Samantha Gordon. 2nd.Linzi Hamilton 3rd.Heather Bell. 4th.Emma Chambers. 5th.Jemma McKinney.

Junior - 1st. Lauren Hanna. 2nd.Lauren Muldrew.3rd.Steven Gilchrist. 4th.Dale Fisher. 5th.Elizabeth Morrow.

Ulster Star